February 20, 2013

  • Blogging From The Heart..Writing From The Soul

    494065b223bf374a46fa86150321062c

    I was talking to a friend a few days ago and I told her how excited I was to be blogging.  I explained that I had always dreamed of being a writer and I had finally found the venue to work on my writing.  She looked confused and I asked her why.  She said that she understood blogging to be part of a social network, where you post your family pictures, or silly posters and you kept people updated on your life.  So, what did blogging have to do with being a writer?  Bloggers write journals while writers publish books was her point of view, so what did one have to do with another?  I told her it was hard to explain and we moved on to another subject.

    I’ve done a lot of thinking about that conversation.  I wondered if I was using my blog site as a means to socialize or to put some serious writing out to the public.  I’ve come to realize that I can do both and still achieve my writing goals.

    The pieces I write can vary from one day to the next.  Some of the posts I write come from the heart; some of the pieces come from my soul.

    When I write a post about a subject that I find ironic, funny or touches me in some way, I write from my heart.  I write about my views as I see them and I write these posts to get things off my chest or to to cheer myself up.  I enjoy writing them and from the feedback I get; some of the readers enjoy them too.  I visualize this writing as conversations with friends and when I read your posts, I am reading them as a friend, even if I don’t know you from Adam.  It’s fun therapy for me and I love it with a passion.

    I have also written pieces about my past, about my family and about events in my life.  These are the things I have written from my soul.  It is sometimes painful to pull these memories and write about them.  But, I believe that these pieces were some of my best and will lead me to being a better writer.  I listen closely to the feedback from the readers and I learn from their comments.

    I also learn different things from reading the posts of my fellow bloggers.  I learn about your lives, your feelings and your take on life.  I read some of these posts as a friend; I read some of them as a writer.  I learn daily from all of your posts and apply those lessons to expanding my writing skills.  And, I thank you for that!

    My ultimate goal is to write short stories or even a novel.  I realize that what I have been trying to do by blogging is to find a way to write from both my heart and my soul, blend those two worlds together.  And I believe that blogging has me on the right path to achieving those goals.

    So, there is really no difference between blogging and writing.  It’s all in how you want to use the medium to achieve your specific goals.  And, that’s what I’m going to tell my friend the next time I see her!

Comments (12)

  • I learn things about myself as I repond to comments and discipline my mind in order to present my thoughts as clearly as possible. Good stuff.

  • I consider social networking to be of secondary importance.

  • I think it’s a way to get to know people through their blogs.  For the blogger and for the reader it’s a win-win.

  • Blogs are like diary entries or newspaper columns. Writing in other words. Facebook and Twitter are instant messages and sound bites – not writing at all. Your friend has never read a blog only FB and Tweets…

  • @murisopsis - You’ve nailed it precisely. This should be a dictionary definition. 

  • You have summed it up perfectly.

  • Blogging can be whatever you want it to be, and you definitely are great at it! :)

  • Keep on blogging! Although new here to blogging, I am working my way through it. I have noticed: some write for the fans, some write from heart or soul to be heard and shared, some for shock value, some to blurt out their opinions (maybe because no one else would listen as they are very one-sided),  some to get it off their chest, some to preserve their thoughts and feelings at the moment. Whatever their reason, this is a way to get it out there. As I said, keep on blogging!

  • Blogging can be anything to a person – some just mainly true bloggers and some to do some real writings using the blogging sites. I mean why not?
    I find either blogging or writing any kinds of writings in any diary/journal sites are a sort of writing out your thoughts, feelings, wisdom, lessons and creating your own writings stuff.

  • you are exactly right.  i can’t agree more.  there is no right or wrong answer.  it is a medium to help express one self for the purpose of sharing AND allows one to venture more into the world of writing, if one chooses to do so.  i am constantly inspired by the many who share their posts here on xanga.  both by their candidness and openness, as well as by their way in words.  expressions of feelings n thoughts can be exciting and inviting but can also be dull and insulting, all to do with HOW you express them.  one that i am in need of constant coaching.  and i think i can get a piece of that lesson from you.

  • yes to blog forces us to compose a story whatever the inspiration ….but this asks inspiration . Since 2001, I had a lot of sincere friends on Xanga but alas mant have been devoured by facebook, or by real life and some are dead . Xanga is the kingdom of the minds and we are friends in mind .
     It is much .

    Love {v]}

    Michel

  • Do you plan to publish any of your writings?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *