November 19, 2012

  • BLACK FRIDAY BLUES

    I was just watching my local news station and, as usual, am wondering where the media’s priorities are. 

     

    A good percentage of the broadcast was spent reporting on what stores would be open on Thanksgiving evening and on Black Friday;  no stories were reported on the significance of the Thanksgiving Holiday.  Have they forgotten why Thanksgiving is a holiday? 

     

    Now, I admit, I am a holiday junkie.  Give me a holiday and I’ll decorate, gift and celebrate with all within my reach.  But, I also value the meaning of the special day and treasure the history behind it.  When did we forget that Thanksgiving started with the pilgrims, celebrating their first successful harvest in the New World.  They gathered their families and shared their food with the Indians that came.  Therefore, Thanksgiving has long been considered a day to gather family and give thanks for all the blessings we have received, large and small, this year.

     

    I don’t remember any stories of the pilgrims setting up shop and offering to sell their crops to the Indians the next day for a reduced rate.

     

    So, on Thanksgiving day, you will find me surrounded by loved one’s; stuffing my face with turkey, and sharing the history of Thanksgiving with my granddaughter.  You won’t find me waiting in the cold to save a few dollars, spend money I can’t afford, and fight the crowds in the aisles.

     

     

     

     

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *