Month: November 2012

  • KENTUCKY BOUND

    A few days ago, my SO, Danny and I received news that one of his sister’s in Kentucky has been diagnosed with stage four bone cancer.  Two days later, we were told that she had been sent home and Hospice had been called in.  That same day, we got a call that one of his other sister’s in the hospital with pneumonia.  Yup. the hits just keep on coming.  Danny is the youngest (in his fifties) and his sisters are all in their sixties and seventies.  He lost a brother last year to liver cancer, so this is pretty rough on him.

    So, we are leaving today for Kentucky.  

    If you have read some of my previous blogs, Danny is recovering from an almost fatal illness.  I’m very worried that Danny’s health will be affected by the cold and stress; but I understand his need to go.  We are driving half-way today and get there tomorrow.  I am bringing my laptop, but who knows when or where I’ll find Wifi.  

    So, my fellow bloggers, I will probably have to forego reading and commenting on your blogs until my return.  But, I promise, I will read all when I return; I just don’t know how things will go. 

    Please include us in your prayers.

     

    Blog ya later!

  • NO JUSTICE FOR CAYLEE ANTHONY

     

    REST IN PEACE SWEET CHILD OF GOD

     

    Once again,  I shed tears for a murdered child. who was thrown away like garbage and left to rot.  There will be no justice for Caylee Marie Anthony.  Her mother has been free to resume her party lifestyle and to shove aside the memory of her daughter.  This cold and callus woman was not made to pay for the death of her daughter, or the lies she told to cover up the child’s death.

    New evidence shows that, on the day Caylee was last seen, someone in the house was checking the Internet for ways to suffocate a human being.  If it wasn’t Casey Anthony planning the murder of her daughter, then who was it?  And how did the police overlook this information prior to the trial? 

    A jury found Casey Anthony not guilty.  Our legal system will not allow her to be tried again for this horrible murder, but we can do our part to avenge this innocent child’s death by boycotting anything that Casey Anthony or her dysfunctional family may profit from.  If there is a book, don’t buy it.  If there is a movie, don’t watch it.  If there is a television program based on the case, turn off the channel.

    Sadly, there are many questions that we will never have answered about little Caylee’s death.  But I know in my heart, God now holds little Caylee in his arms, safe and sound.  And I can only hope that her murderer suffers all the misery they so richly deserve.

    Remember Caylee in your prayers and feel free to share this.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

  • WHAT ARE YOU GRATEFUL FOR?

    It’s the day before Thanksgiving and I am staying at my daughter’s house to help prepare for tomorrow’s feast.  Tonight, I will be going to church to hear my granddaughter speak about the things that she is grateful for.  (Just a note.  I do not attend church on a regular basis; I dislike organized religion, but anytime my daughter wants me to go, she pulls out the “granddaughter is speaking” card.)  

     

    I wonder what I would say if asked to list the things that I am grateful for this past year.  After all, it’s been a tough year.  With a depressed economy, a serious health scare, and almost losing the man I chose to spend the rest of my life with, I have not been jumping for joy very often this year.  But, as usual, I set my mind to make a list and here it is.

     

    As always, I am grateful to be alive and to be healthy enough to enjoy the world around me.

    I spent months worrying when doctor’s were testing me for cancer, I am very grateful that I got a clean bill of health.

    Although my man almost died from liver failure, I am grateful he survived and is making slow but steady progress towards full recovery.

    I am grateful that my children and granddaughter all live in a stone’s throw of me and for the love we all share.

    I am grateful that I found Xanga as I enjoy the Xanga community so much more that I did on Blogger.

     

     

    I hope all of you take the time to find at least a few things that you are grateful for this Thanksgiving and I wish you all a great Thanksgiving.heart

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

  • BLACK FRIDAY BLUES

    I was just watching my local news station and, as usual, am wondering where the media’s priorities are. 

     

    A good percentage of the broadcast was spent reporting on what stores would be open on Thanksgiving evening and on Black Friday;  no stories were reported on the significance of the Thanksgiving Holiday.  Have they forgotten why Thanksgiving is a holiday? 

     

    Now, I admit, I am a holiday junkie.  Give me a holiday and I’ll decorate, gift and celebrate with all within my reach.  But, I also value the meaning of the special day and treasure the history behind it.  When did we forget that Thanksgiving started with the pilgrims, celebrating their first successful harvest in the New World.  They gathered their families and shared their food with the Indians that came.  Therefore, Thanksgiving has long been considered a day to gather family and give thanks for all the blessings we have received, large and small, this year.

     

    I don’t remember any stories of the pilgrims setting up shop and offering to sell their crops to the Indians the next day for a reduced rate.

     

    So, on Thanksgiving day, you will find me surrounded by loved one’s; stuffing my face with turkey, and sharing the history of Thanksgiving with my granddaughter.  You won’t find me waiting in the cold to save a few dollars, spend money I can’t afford, and fight the crowds in the aisles.

     

     

     

     

     

  • WHEN DID I GET OLD?

    I looked in the mirror today and wondered who that woman was that was staring back at me!  She couldn’t be me…say it isn’t so!

     

    When did my long, silky auburn tresses become short, wiry silver corkscrews?

     

    When did I get a double chin and what the hell are those tentacle-like folicles growing out of them?

     

    When did my breasts and rear-end stop defying gravity?

     

    When did my soft, creamy skin, sprinkled with freckles start requiring lavish amounts of moisturizers and spot erasers?

     

    When did my once shapely legs start sporting those hideous blue veins and flabby, dimpled thighs?

     

    I started brushing my dentures and thought about other things that have changed with age.

     

    When did I stop saying “That’s cool, Dude!” and start saying “That’s nice, dear.”

     

    When did I give up those sexy two-inch heels for sensible sneakers with a Dr. Scholl’s insert stuffed inside”

     

    When did I give up driving racy sports cars, dressed to kill and looking for action?  Now I pedal around my neighborhood on my three speed bike, dressed from head to toe in protective gear, looking for my way home.

     

    When did people stop telling me that a new hairstyle made me look more mature and start exclaiming that I look younger with the new do?  And when someone tells me that “60 is the new 50″, I want to scream!

     

    When did something I used to do all day long now take me all day to do?

     

    When did little one’s start calling me “Mommy” and start yelling “Grandma”?

     

    “WAIT A MINUTE!”, I thought, “I happen to love being a Grandma!”

     

    I stepped away from the mirror and sat on the edge of my bed.  I started thinking about the difference between “getting old” and “growing older”.

     

    Sure, my body and lifestyle have changed with age.  But, I have my health, a loving family and a great guy to spend my “golden years” with.  Over the years, I have traded cockiness for wisdom, day to day stress for peace of mind and demanding jobs for the freedom to experience new adventures that I could only dream about while chasing a career.

     

    So, what the hell was I complaining about?

     

    Deciding that I was not getting old, but only growing older, I smiled and got off the bed, headed to the kitchen for a cup of coffee and a glass of orange juice laced with Metamucil. 

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

  • Hi everyone! I’m just getting started on Xanga… Drop me a comment if you’ve got some ideas on what to do first – or just to say, “Hi!”