Month: December 2012

  • A DAY TO REFLECT

    Well, it’s 5 A.M. on New Years Eve, and I am sitting here thinking about the past year: it’s ups, it’s downs, it’s challenges, and it’s changes.

    My life changed completely in May; Danny almost lost his life to liver failure.  A lifetime of heavy drinking had finally taken it’s toll.  He survived and his doctor’s said that if he wanted to live, he must never drink again.  Now, I’ll be honest, we were both big drinkers; this was hard news for both of us.  But, Danny and I have been together for over twelve years, and I was not ready to lose him. So, we gave up drinking.  No big deal…except that we were both heavy drinkers.  But, I’m happy to say, neither of us have touched a drop since May and we feel better and are closer than ever.

    My biggest challenge this year was being sole caregiver to Danny during his recovery.  I feared that I would not be able to live up to the responsibilities required to nurse him back from the brink of death. It was perhaps the hardest thing I have ever had to do.  But, Danny is recovering, so I guess I lived up to the challenge and my fears were for nothing!  It has gotten easier every day to meet his needs and I can now look back at the dark days as a learning experience.  

    I was down a lot this year, and the hardest part was not being able to show it.  I had to keep up a strong, optimistic front on a daily basis; and that was very difficult, when I lived in fear of losing my best friend.  Tears had to be shed in the bathroom, when Danny was sleeping.  I had not yet found Xanga, so I had no outlet for my feelings and I just kept them bottled up.  

    But this year has brought many rewards.  Danny smiles now, and actually makes plans for the future.  We laugh, we cuddle and we talk honestly to each other about our feelings.  Our love has grown beyond anything I could have imagined. So, it was all worth it.  

    I have learned a lot about myself this year and am proud of what I’ve accomplished.  I look forward to spending not only the new year, but many years, after that with the man I love. So, bring on 2013!  I’m ready! 

     

     

  • KNOW ANYONE LIKE THIS?

     

    A few months ago, Danny got a call from his troubled son.  His son was complaining that he would have no place to sleep that night, so he was going to sleep behind a dumpster.  When Danny asked him where his paycheck was that we knew he had received from his new job…he said, “I had to get a Smartphone.”  So, between spending his paycheck on food and a place to stay or sleeping behind a dumpster, he chose the dumpster.

    When Danny questioned his decision, he said, “Dad, I’ve got to have a phone!”  Wow..priorities!

    Just before Christmas, our local news station reported on the great turnout at the Food Bank for a holiday meal.  They showed a young man, carrying a two year old, picking up his free groceries…WITH A SMARTPHONE glued to his ear!  Danny went ballistic.

    Here in Florida, if you are on any kind of assistance, you can get a free phone with free minutes.  This enables you to search for work or call for help in emergencies.  It is a simple phone, no bells and whistles, but it gets the job done.  Not good enough for some people, I guess.  Much better to spend what little money you have on an expensive phone, instead of using that money for food and shelter.  

    People need to stop making bad choices and focus on the needs of their family, not their selfish wants.

    Or is it just me?  DO YOU KNOW SOMEONE LIKE THIS?

  • MY NEW YEARS WISH FOR YOU!

     

    Wishing all my Xanga friends and family a very Happy and Prosperous New Year!

    With love,

    M.E. and family

  • March on Washington D.C. – Update #1!

     

    Frosty has asked me to give you a quick update on the progress of our protest march on Washington, D.C.  I am very happy to report that many snowman have signed up and are getting ready to slide across the land to carry our message about global warming.  Snowmen and snow women have been burning up the phones in order to register for this important event.

     

     

    Some fear the trek to D.C. will be slow going, since snowmen don’t have feet!  So, some are looking for quicker means of transportation.

     

     

     

    And others are finding a more “Magical” way to travel!

     

     If you have a snowman in your yard and he/she wishes to join our march, please sign them up for this very important event before it’s too late.  We are leaving on January 2, 2013, as it will take our western states participants longer to roll into D.C. than our brothers and sisters on the Eastern seaboard.  

    MORE UPDATES TO FOLLOW!

     

     

     

     

     

  • AND THE ANGELS SANG!

    My little angel, Elizabeth, is the one in the white dress, far right.  My granddaughter has been very busy this holiday season, singing in many different venues.  Can’t tell I’m a proud grandma, can you?

    And, no, that is not me wiping my nose and mouthing the words while the kids sang…I believe that’s the music teacher! smooch

     

     

  • DO YOU RESEMBLE THIS REMARK?

     

    Well, I do, sometimes.

    I can’t count the number of times I have had to pull my foot out of my mouth!  I have never meant to say anything insulting to someone, and I have never meant to be cruel or uncaring with my words, but sometimes, the words just spew out and, SNAP, I’ve hurt someone’s feelings.

    I don’t know who this hurts more, the object of my inappropriate humor or me, for the lingering guilt I suffer.  I have improved with age, but every once in a while my mouth seems to have a mind of it’s own and attacks when I least expect it.

    Now, before I make a global apology, I do want to state that most times the stuff I say is pretty damn funny!  But, I have had to learn to soften the blow by an immediate hug after dropping a bomb on the poor unsuspecting person (or quickly leave the room, so my SO, Danny, can explain that sometimes, I go off my meds and can’t be held responsible for my actions.)

    Luckily, almost all the people I know can take a joke and get right back at me…which I happen to love!  Very few are shocked or angered…at least I haven’t gotten punched out yet!  But, there’s always a first time!

    So, if posting a comment to you, I happen to hit a nerve, feel free to hit right back.  I can take it!

     

     

     

  • I DOUBLE DOG DARE YOU!

     

     

    FOR THOSE OF US WITH JUST A LITTLE BIT OF “CRAZY” IN US.

     

     

     

    OK, consider yourself challenged.  Pick one of the above and try it out.  My personal favorites are number 2, 3 and 7.  Return with your stories of how it worked out for you, ESPECIALLY if you choose number 9. Add pictures or videos to support your claim that you took the challenge if you wish.  

    Now, just because I am challenging you does not mean I am responsible for Bail money should things go wrong during your performance of the task.  I have to run to McDonald’s now so I can perform Number 4.  Wish me luck! 

    @Traintrack, this is right up your alley!  shocked  OK, ready, set, go!

     

     

     

  • JOIN OUR MARCH TO WASHINGTON

        

     

    Please join us as we march to Washington in January. This march has been organized by our leader, Frosty, and is expected to end by April (when we start looking less than our best).  So, pack up those knapsacks and get ready!  

    If you can’t attend, we are accepting coal and carrot donations in order to make a more unified “front” during our March.  Let’s put an end to Global Warming and preserve our future!  

    NOTE:  I am the owner of this site and the two Snowmen at the top wrote and posted this.  Scares me, and I’m a fearless woman!  If you have snowmen on your site, better keep an eye out for unexpected posts from your site!

  • My Christmas Card to All

     

     

    Here’s wishing you the very happiest and loving holiday season.  

    From

    My family to yours!

     

     

     

     

  • HEY SANTA!

    Dear Santa,

     

    Where the hell have you been?  You owe me….big time.  Each year I have to cover your job!  I have to decorate the house and the Christmas tree, buy and wrap presents and fill stockings myself because you can’t seem to find the time to perform your yearly duties.  Is this fair?

     

    Have you forgotten that I was the one that put out, not one, but a dozen cookies for you when I was a kid?  And all those letters I sent you.  Did you know that I was the one that shouted “There IS a Santa!”, year after year?   Now that I am grown, you seem to have forgotten all about me. Why am I not on your “TO DO” list?   

     

    Do you not know that my SO and I have eight kids, six grand-kids, and two great-grand kids?  You picked a fine time to abandon me!  I could use a little help, you fat, jolly old soul!

     

    But, don’t worry, Santa.  Once again, I will cover your butt and carry out your responsibilities.  There is no way that I will let a child be disappointed on Christmas Day, and I’ll still let you get the credit.  It’s worth the glowing faces and happy chuckles that will surround me during the Christmas season. But, I just want to warn you, this year is my last year doing your job!

    Oh, who am I kidding?  I know you don’t show up because I actually enjoy filling in for you and I wouldn’t miss all the activity and smiles for the world.

     

    So, go ahead, lean back and know that I’ll do the best I can to continue the “Santa” legend. However, just for this year, could you circle my house and drop a new “Kindle Fire” down the chimney for me?  Just asking.